
See second page for undesignated crew member license(s) 

 

 
WDFW-820 (Rev.9-2022) 

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife 

Application for Commercial Fishery License 
for the Year ______ 
 
 
 
 

Department Use 

License Number Payment Receipt 

License Type 
 

BF – PURSE SEINE 
Resident 

$450.00 
Non-Res 

$835.00 
DFW Vessel Registration 

 

Gear Species License District 

PURSE SEINE BAITFISH Coast  Grays Harbor Other  Puget Sound Willapa Harbor 

Designated Vessel information 
Vessel Name State or Documentation Number Hull Identification Number 

Overall Length Beam Horsepower 

 Gas 

 Diesel 

Net tonnage Gross tonnage 
 Fathometer 

 Loran 

 Radar 

10 inch number 

 

License Owner  Primary Operator 
Last Name                               First Name                                 Middle Initial  Last Name                     First Name                              Middle Initial 

Street Address  Birthdate Sex Hair Eyes Weight Height 

Mailing Address  Social Security Number 

City                                                      State                                Zip  Email Address 

Phone Number  Alternate Operator (optional) 

Last Name                            First Name                               Birthdate 

 

 
 Last Name                            First Name                               Birthdate 

 I have been a resident of Washington for the previous 

      90 days and am not licensed as a resident in any other state. 

 I am not a resident of Washington State. 

      I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the law of the state of  
      Washington that the above information is true and correct. Providing  
      false information may invalidate this license. 

 
 

Signature                                                                                  Date 

 
 

Print Name 

 Make fees payable to Department of Fish & Wildlife (WDFW) 
 
Mailing address 
Department of Fish & Wildlife 
Commercial Licensing 
PO Box 43154 
Olympia WA 98504 
 
If using Fed ex or UPS please use 
Physical Address 
1111 Washington St SE Olympia WA 98501 
Phone 360-902-2464 opt 4  TDD 360-902-2207 
FAX 360-902-2945 



[Type here] 
 

 

WAC 220-350-110 

Definitions—Purse seine. 

(1) "Purse seine" is defined as including all types of fishing gear consisting of a lead line, cork line, auxiliary lines, purse line 
and purse rings and mesh net webbing fashioned in such a manner that it is used to encircle fish, and in addition prevents their 
escape under the bottom or lead line of the net by drawing in the bottom of the net by means of the purse line so that it forms a 
closed bag. 

(2) "Bunt" is defined as the portion of the purse seine net located at the end of the net designed to form the bag that holds 
the net's catch after the net is pursed and is the last portion of the net to be pulled aboard the catching vessel. 
 

WAC 220-356-070 

Puget Sound herring and anchovy commercial fisheries—Purse seine. 

(1) Gear requirements: 
(a) It is unlawful to harvest smelt using purse seine gear in Puget Sound. 
(b) It is unlawful to operate purse seine gear in the Puget Sound herring and anchovy fisheries that exceeds 600 feet in 

length or contains meshes less than 1/2-inch stretch measure, unless otherwise authorized by permit from the director. 
(2) A violation of subsection (1) of this section is punishable under RCW 77.15.520, Commercial fishing—Unlawful gear or 

methods—Penalty. 
(3) Licensing: 
(a) A baitfish purse seine fishery license is required to operate purse seine gear in the Puget Sound anchovy commercial 

fishery and allows the operator to retain anchovy. 
(b) A herring purse seine fishery license is required to operate purse seine gear in the Puget Sound herring fishery and 

allows the operator to retain herring. 
(c) Failure to obtain the required license prior to operating purse seine gear and retaining anchovy or herring is punishable 

under RCW 77.15.500, Commercial fishing without a license—Penalty. 
 

You can select up to FOUR undesignated crewmember licenses:  
 

Resident Crewmember License [Qty____ x $35 = $________ ]  

 
Non-Resident Crewmember License [Qty____ x $110 = $_______ ]  

You can select up to TWO Albacore Tuna crewmember licenses: 
 

Albacore Tuna Crew License [Qty____ x $35 = $________ ]  

 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.15.520
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.15.500
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