
See second page for undesignated crew member licenses(s) 
 

 
WDFW-820 (Rev. 2-2023) 

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife 

Application for Commercial Fishery  

License for the Year  _______ 
 
 
 
 

Department Use 

License Number Payment Receipt 

License Type 
 

PS-SHR-P 
Resident 

$440 
 

Non-Resident 

$825 
 

DFW Vessel Registration 

Buoy Brand 

Gear Species License District 

POT SHRIMP Coast  Grays Harbor Other  Puget Sound Willapa Harbor 

Designated Vessel information 
Vessel Name State or Documentation Number Hull Identification Number 

Overall Length Beam Horsepower 

 Gas 

 Diesel 

Net tonnage Gross tonnage 
 Fathometer 

 Loran 

 Radar 

10 inch number 

 

License Owner  Primary Operator 
Last Name                               First Name                                 Middle Initial  Last Name                     First Name                              Middle Initial 

Physical Address  Birthdate Sex Hair Eyes Weight Height 

Mailing Address  Social Security Number 

City                                                      State                                Zip  Email Address 

Phone Number  Alternate Operator (optional) 

Last Name                            First Name                               Birthdate 

SSN or UBI # 

 
 Last Name                            First Name                               Birthdate 

 I have been a resident of Washington for the previous 

      90 days and am not licensed as a resident in any other state. 

 I am not a resident of Washington State. 

 
I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the law of the state of 
Washington that the above information is true and correct. Providing false 
information may invalidate this license. 

 
 

Signature                                                                                  Date 

 
 

Print Name 

 Make fees payable to Department of Fish & Wildlife (WDFW) 
 
Mailing address 
Department of Fish & Wildlife 
Commercial Licensing 
PO Box 43154 
Olympia WA 98504 
 
If using Fed ex or UPS please use 
Physical Address 
1111 Washington St SE Olympia WA 98501 
PHONE 360-902-2464  TDD 360-902-2207 
FAX 360-902-2945 
EMAIL commercialsales@dfw.wa.gov 

mailto:commercialsales@dfw.wa.gov


 
WAC 220-340-520 
Commercial shrimp pot fishery—Puget Sound. 
License 

(1) It is unlawful to take, fish for, land, or deliver shrimp taken for commercial purposes with pot gear from Puget Sound waters without a valid 
Puget Sound shrimp pot license. 

A Puget Sound shrimp pot license will only be issued to an individual who is a natural person, and this person shall be the primary operator. 
Holders of Puget Sound shrimp pot licenses may designate a single alternate operator per license. 
Pot Gear and area 

(2) It is unlawful to fish for shrimp for commercial purposes in Puget Sound using shellfish pot gear except during seasons opened by 
emergency rule. 

(3) Gear restrictions in all areas, maximum 100 pots per fisher except for dual licensees as provided for in RCW 77.70.410. 
(4) Buoy requirements, in all areas: 
(a) Buoys must be orange in color and consist of durable material that will remain floating on the surface with five pounds attached; bleach or 

antifreeze bottles or other containers may not be used as floats. 
(b) Buoys must be marked with the clear identification of the license holder and the vessel designated on the Puget Sound shrimp pot license. 
(c) When two or more shrimp pots are attached to a common ground line, the number and type of pots (spot shrimp or nonspot shrimp pot) so 

attached must be clearly labeled on the required buoy. 
(d) The line attaching the pot to the buoy must be weighted sufficiently to prevent the line from floating on the surface. 
(5) Pot requirements, in all areas: 
(a) A shrimp pot may not exceed a maximum of 153-inch bottom perimeter and a maximum of 24-inch height. 
(b) The entire top, bottom, and sides of the shrimp pot must be constructed of mesh material. Use of liners is prohibited. 
(c) Entrance tunnels to shrimp pots may be constructed of any size mesh material. All entrance tunnels must open into the pot from the side. 

The sum of the maximum widths of all entrance tunnel openings must not exceed half of the perimeter of the bottom of the pot. 
(d) Spot shrimp may only be harvested using pots with a minimum mesh size of one inch. Mesh size of one inch is defined as a mesh opening 

that a 7/8-inch square peg will pass through, excluding the entrance tunnels, except for flexible (web) mesh pots, where the mesh must be a minimum of 
1 3/4 inch stretch measure. Stretch measure is defined as the distance between the inside of one knot to the outside of the opposite vertical knot of one 
mesh, when the mesh is stretched vertically. 

(e) Nonspot shrimp may only be harvested using pots with a minimum mesh size 1/2 inch. Mesh of 1/2 inch is defined as a mesh that a 3/8 
inch square peg will pass through, excluding the entrance tunnels, except for flexible (web) mesh pots, where the mesh must be at a minimum 1 1/8 inch 
stretch measure. Stretch measure is defined as the distance between the inside of one knot to the outside of the opposite vertical knot of one mesh, 
when the mesh is stretched vertically. 

(6) Harvest restrictions, all areas: 
(a) It is unlawful to set or pull shrimp pot gear from one hour after official sunset to one hour before official sunrise. 
(b) It is unlawful to deploy spot shrimp pots and nonspot shrimp pots concurrently within the same Catch Reporting Area, with the following 

exceptions: 
(i) Spot and nonspot shrimp pots may be concurrently deployed in Catch Area 23A but not within the same subarea (23A-E, 23A-W, 23A-C, or 

23A-S) concurrently. 
(ii) Nonspot pots may be deployed within Sequim Bay CSMA (WAC 220-320-120) concurrently with spot shrimp pots deployed in the 

remaining portion of Catch Area 25A outside of Sequim Bay CSMA. 
(iii) All shrimp harvested must be landed and recorded on a shellfish receiving ticket before subsequent harvest may occur. 
(c) Each fisher or alternate operator is required to report their intended catch area of harvest, target species (spot or nonspot), and an estimate 

of total pounds that are being targeted prior to the deployment of any shrimp gear by email or text message to shrimp.report@dfw.wa.gov, or by using 
the Puget Sound commercial shrimp reporting website. 

(d) It is unlawful to harvest nonspot and spot shrimp in the same day. 
(e) It is unlawful to harvest shrimp in more than one catch area per day, except for concurrent pot deployment described in (b) of this 

subsection. 
(f) Nonspot shrimp pot harvest restrictions: 
(i) Harvest of nonspot shrimp is not permitted deeper than 175 feet in Shrimp Management Area 2E. 
(ii) Harvest of nonspot shrimp is not permitted deeper than 150 feet in Region 2W. 

Reporting 
(7) All shrimp taken in the Puget Sound commercial shrimp fishery must be landed and recorded on Washington state fish receiving tickets 

within 24 hours of harvest. No fisher may land shrimp without immediate delivery to a wholesale fish buyer, or if transferred at sea, without transfer to a 
wholesale fish buyer. A fisher who is a wholesale fish buyer or a limited fish seller may complete and return a fish receiving ticket to satisfy the 
requirements of this subsection. 

You can select up to FOUR undesignated crewmember licenses:  
 

Resident Crewmember License [Qty____ x $35 = $________ ]  

 
Non-Resident Crewmember License [Qty____ x $110 = $_______ ]  

You can select up to TWO Albacore Tuna crewmember licenses: 
 

Albacore Tuna Crew License [Qty____ x $35 = $________ ]  

 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=77.70.410
http://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=220-320-120
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