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Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife 

Important Information for Wholesale Dealers and Anadromous Fish Buyers 

 

Wholesale Dealer and Fish Buyer License 

 A wholesale fish dealer's license is required for: 
 
(1) A business in the state to engage in the commercial processing of food fish or shellfish, 
including custom canning or processing of personal use food fish or shellfish. 
 
(2) A business in the state to engage in the wholesale selling, buying, or brokering of food fish 
or shellfish. A wholesale fish dealer's license is not required of those businesses which buy 
exclusively from Washington licensed wholesale dealers and sell solely at retail. 
 
(3) Fishermen who land and sell their catch or harvest in the state to anyone other than a 
licensed wholesale dealer within or outside the state, unless the fisher has a direct retail 
endorsement. 
 
(4) A business to engage in the commercial manufacture or preparation of fertilizer, oil, meal, 
caviar, fish bait, or other by-products from food fish or shellfish. 
 
(5) A business employing a fish buyer as defined under RCW 77.65.340. 
 

 

Anadromous Fish Buyers 

An anadromous game fish buyer's license allows the holder to purchase or sell steelhead trout 
and other anadromous game fish harvested by Indian fishers lawfully exercising fishing rights 
reserved by federal statute, treaty, or executive order, under conditions prescribed by rule of the 
director.  

 An anadromous game fish buyer's license is not required for those businesses that buy 
steelhead trout and other anadromous game fish from Washington licensed game fish dealers 
and sell solely at retail. 
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Wholesale Dealer License Requirements: 
 
 
Corporation Licensing 
 
A copy of the Master Business License applications submitted in the name of a corporation 
must include a copy of those portions on the corporation papers that show the state seal, the 
corporation name, and a list of the current corporate officers. Only those individuals listed as 
corporate officers have the authority to sign for license renewals, changes, etc.  
Out of sate corporations must include a copy of their Washington State Business license. 
 
 
Performance bond 

 

A wholesale fish dealer shall not take possession of food fish or shellfish until the dealer has 
deposited with the department an acceptable performance bond on forms prescribed and 
furnished by the department. This performance bond shall be a corporate surety bond executed 
in favor of the department by a corporation authorized to do business in the state of Washington 
under chapter 48.28 RCW and approved by the department. The bond shall be filed and 
maintained in an amount two thousand dollars. One thousand dollars is required for each buyer 
after two. 
 
In lieu of the surety bond the wholesale fish dealer may file with the department a cash deposit 
or a savings account assignment from a bank in Washington State. 

The bond shall be maintained as long as the wholesale fish dealer engages in activities under 
RCW 77.65.280 unless released. Liability under the bond may be released only upon written 
notification from the department. 

 

License Fees (Application Fees are non-refundable) 

Anadromous Fish Buyer $285 
Direct Retail Endorsement* $155 
Wholesale Fish Dealer $355 
Wholesale Fish Buyer  $200 
 
*For more information on Direct Retail Endorsement (DRE) call 360-902-2464 (select option 4) 
 
 
 
Department of Health Shellfish Requirements 
If you engage in a commercial shellfish operation, you must read and agree to comply with 
RCW 69.30, WAC 246-282 and the National Shellfish Sanitation Program Model Ordinance. 
Please call the Department of Health Office of Shellfish and Water Protection at (360) 236-3330 
for more information. 










