
Each year, motorists strike and kill more than 3,000 
deer and elk on Washington state highways. Now 
people can legally salvage those carcasses under 

regulatory changes approved by the Washington Fish and 
Wildlife Commission.

The commission, which sets policy for the Washington 
Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW), adopted the 
new rule in April 2016 after receiving a strong showing of 
public support for allowing the recovery of edible meat. 
Nearly 20 states – including Idaho and Montana – now 
allow the public to salvage road-kill wildlife, although their 
rules for doing so vary.

Washington state’s new rule applies only to deer and elk 
killed by motor vehicles. In addition, only elk – not deer 
– may be salvaged in Clark, Cowlitz, and Wahkiakum 
counties where federal laws prohibit handling endangered 
Columbian white-tailed deer. 

Anyone who takes possession of a deer or elk carcass 
must obtain a free, printable permit from WDFW within 
24 hours. Those permits are now available on WDFW’s 
website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/licensing/road-salvage/.

The permittee must keep a hardcopy of the signed and 
dated salvage permit with the meat until all of the edible 
parts are consumed.

Those who consume salvaged meat do so at their own 
risk. WDFW does not guarantee that the meat is fit for 
consumption, and encourages those planning to salvage 
deer and elk carcasses to review its Wild Game Meat Food 
Safety website at http://wdfw.wa.gov/hunting/meat_safety/.

The new salvage rule also does not authorize trespassing 
on private property or ignoring highway-safety rules.

Washington state allows
salvaging road-kill deer, elk 

Contacts: 
Deputy Chief Michael Hobbs
WDFW Police
360-902-2939
michael.hobbs@dfw.wa.gov

Wildlife Program
360-902-2515
Wildthing@dfw.wa.gov

wdfw.wa.gov

 June 2016

The new rule requires that 
anyone who salvages a 

deer or elk carcass obtain 
a free permit.



Summary of legal provisions
The state’s new road-kill salvage rule is codified in  
WAC 232-12-287 - Possession of dead wildlife - which states:

•	 An individual must obtain a free salvage permit 
within 24 hours of taking possession of a deer or elk 
killed in a motor vehicle collision.

•	 The entire carcass, including entrails, of the animal 
must be removed from the road right-of-way.

•	 Individuals cannot kill an injured deer or elk they 
find in order to get a salvage permit.

•	 Big game licenses and tags cannot be used in lieu 
of a salvage permit for deer or elk killed in a motor 
vehicle collision.

Deer and elk highway fatalities

An average of 2,994 deer and 83 elk died in automobile 
collisions on state highways each year from 2000-
04, according to study of accident data completed by 
WDFW in 2008. A majority of those fatalities occurred 

in late fall and early winter, when the animals are 
especially mobile due to both breeding and state 
hunting seasons.

Not surprisingly, collisions are most frequent in high-
traffic corridors where large numbers of deer and elk 
are present. In eastern Washington, these areas include 
highways north of Spokane; in the Methow River 
Valley, and near Wenatchee, Goldendale and Omak, 
according to the Washington State Department of 
Transportation.

In western Washington, vehicle collisions with elk and 
deer are more widely distributed, but are most notable 
on Whidbey Island along State Route 20 and State Route 
525; in the Packwood-Randle area on U.S. Highway 12; 
and on Interstate 90 near North Bend.

WDFW’s new salvage-permit system will also help 
to pinpoint road-kill “hotspots,” supporting ongoing 
efforts by transportation managers to reduce collisions 
with wildlife on state highways.

Persons with disabilities who need to receive this information in an alternative format or who need 
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dfw.wa.gov). For more information, see http://wdfw.wa.gov/accessibility/reasonable_request.html


