Importation of dead wildlife and special closures

Brock Hoenes North Central Region Director





WACs:

220-413-030 Importation and retention of dead nonresident wildlife

220-413-180 Special closures and firearm restriction areas

IMPORTATION AND RETENTION OF DEAD NONRESIDENT WILDLIFE WAC 220-413-030

- By restricting the importation of certain carcass parts of deer, elk, or moose harvested in states where CWD has been detected in wild cervid populations, this rule aims to reduce the potential of CWD becoming established in Washington.
- The rule currently applies to 26 states or provinces.
- Ohio has detected CWD in wild white-tailed deer populations and needs to be added to the list.
- The Department is also proposing to alphabetize the list so it is easier for staff and the public to reference.



SPECIAL CLOSURES AND FIREARM RESTRICTION AREAS WAC 220-413-180

 Commission adopted a rule in April 2021 that made Henry Island (GMU 423) and Stuart Island (GMU 424) standalone GMUs to lessen hunter confusion and improve harvest estimates.





SPECIAL CLOSURES AND FIREARM RESTRICTION AREAS WAC 220-413-180

 WAC 220-413-180 identifies all of San Juan County as a firearm restriction area but clarifies that this includes islands the Department identifies as standalone GMUs.

San Juan
All San Juan County, including GMUs
411 (Orcas), 412 (Shaw), 413 (San Juan),
414 (Lopez), 415 (Blakely), 416
(Decatur), 423 (Henry), 424 (Stuart) and
those portions of GMU 410 (Islands) that
occur in San Juan County.

 Henry and Stuart Islands need to be added to that list of GMUs.



Questions?

