

Washington Fish & Wildlife Commission Special Web Conference

Friday, February 25, 2022

Olympia, Washington

Attendance

Commission:

Molly Linville, Acting Chair

Lorna Smith Kim Thorburn James R. Anderson John Lehmkuhl Melanie Rowland

Barbara Baker Amy Windrope, Deputy Director Joe Panesko, AGO Chad Jackson Kelly Cunningham Craig Burley

Tim Ragen

Commission Staff: Nikki Kloepfer

Eric Gardner

Anis Aoude

Department Staff:

Kelly Susewind, Director

Friday, February 25, 2022

Acting Chair Linville called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

Commissioner Lehmkuhl asked about the petition process. Acting Chair Linville provided clarification.

Chelan River Petition - Briefing, Decision

Chad Jackson, Region 2 Fish Program Manager briefed the commission will consider a petition to amend to WAC 220-312-050 - Freshwater exceptions to statewide rules - Eastside - to open the Chelan River from safe distance below Chelan P.U.D. safety barrier to powerhouse at Chelan Lake for catch and release only.

Commissioner Thorburn made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Anderson to accept the petition and initiate rulemaking for the upper Chelan River separate from, but concurrent with the 2022 North of Falcon rules making process. The Commission discussed the motion. All in favor. Motion passes.

B. Deer and Elk Baiting Petition - Briefing, Decision

Anis Aoude, Game Division Manager, Wildlife Program briefed the commission on a petition to amend WAC 220-414-030, to make it unlawful to hunt for deer and elk while using any type of bait, scents, or attractants, either natural or artificial to delay the onset of CWD in Washington and certainly reduce the spread once it is detected.

Commissioner Anderson made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Thorburn to deny the petition, provided the department addresses this WAC through a more rigorous public engagement process as soon as possible with a briefing to the full Commission in April.

The Commission discussed the motion. The motion passed with 5 votes in favor, Commissioners Baker, Linville, Thorburn, Lehmkuhl, and Anderson with 3 against, Commissioners Ragen, Rowland, and Smith.

Acting Chair Linville adjourned the meeting at 9:37 a.m.